I’ve resisted putting this up for as long as possible, partly because this song has received so much attention lately that I figured that people were sick of it and partly because I wasn’t quite ready to show the extent of my Disney obsession. But I can’t hold it back anymore…
I am in love with this song. And not just because it is part of one of my all time favorite animated films or sung by the incredible Idina Menzel. I am in love with this song because of the powerful message of self-acceptance that it sends. Sometimes it feels as if what people are thinking and saying about you defines who you believe yourself to be. It’s easy to focus in on all the insecurities and little things that go wrong from day to day.
It’s funny how some distance/ Makes everything seem small/
And the fears that once controlled me/ Can’t get to me at all
When you take a step back, you can see that living your life in accordance of what you believe others will find acceptable is a waste of time. Once you accept this, you can be free of the self-doubt that weighs you down and holds you back. You can test the limits and break through. Once you realize that the only thing that holds you back is your distorted view of your own true worth, you can let it go.
Let it go,
Let it go…